Austin Music Minute

Austin Music Minute > All Episodes

August 10, 2019

Shake It Up

By: Laurie Gallardo

Taylor Wilkins is feelin’ all the feels over “Shaker #42,” the latest single by his band Otis Wilkins, or whom your AMM host refers to as Otis the Destroyer‘s alter-ego of sorts.

Produced by Walker Lukens, featuring vocals by Sara Houser (Löwin) and Jane Ellen Bryant, with Jud Johnson on drums and engineer/mixer James Westley Essary on bass, the new tune owns this classic rhythm-and-harmony vibe spanning the decades, from ’50s bit o’ doo-wop rock right on through to late ’70s/early ’80s ELO magic.

The new release is paired with a special occasion. Tonight is Taylor Wilkins’ first time playing The Continental Club, 1315 S. Congress Ave., with Otis Wilkins. Really, the first time playing there ever, and Wilkins couldn’t be more thrilled. His band shares the bill with fellow ATX badasses The Joe Jacksons, Altamesa and Hong Kong Wigs. The music starts at 10:15 p.m. Recommended.

-Otis Wilkins by Kate Blaising Photography.